Nominations open for NAB Agribusiness Awards for Excellence

Tuesday, 10 July, 2007

Australia's premier agribusiness awards are on again, helping to recognise excellence in the industry.

Monash University and the National Australia Bank (NAB) are proud to unite and present the NAB Agribusiness Awards for Excellence, and urge both individuals and businesses to nominate.

Over the past decade, they have become the premier Awards for achievement within the food, fibre, beverage and agribusiness sector - from technology to leadership, primary production to value adding.

NAB Agribusiness General Manager Wayne Carlson said it is a pleasure to be involved in such a significant event in Australia's agribusiness calendar.

"There is no doubt that the agricultural sector is facing challenges such as international competition and climate change. Nor is there any doubt that agribusiness will continue to adapt and increase productivity.

"Innovation and excellence are vital to ensuring this success and the NAB Agribusiness Awards for Excellence support and encourage the development of those characteristics," Mr Carlson said.

Food and Agribusiness Programs Director at Monash University, Dr Lawrie Dooley, said there are some outstanding achievers in Australian agribusiness.

"We have to continue to recognise and encourage these efforts, to help the sector realise its full potential," Dr Dooley said.

"The Awards are now in their 12th year and demonstrate a long-term commitment to agribusiness from all the organisations involved."

Nominations are now open for individuals and organisations, both private and public sector, in the following categories:

  • Primary Producer of the Year Award (NAB Agribusiness) " outstanding leadership,sustained growth and a vision for the future
  • Agribusiness Leader of the Year Award (NAB Agribusiness) " innovation, leadership and enterprise
  • Export Award (Monash University) " export growth, market and customer knowledge and product development
  • Agribusiness Value Adding Award (Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation) " customer focus, competitive advantage and strategic alliances through value adding
  • Technology and Innovation Award (The Australian Institute of Agricultural Science and Technology) " adoption of new products or processes, investment in and protection of intellectual knowledge
  • Environmental and Energy Management Award (Australian Greenhouse Office) " a holistic approach to environmental management, managing greenhouse gases while maintaining productivity
  • Rural Enterprise Award (Australian Farm Journal) - profitable market orientation, a commitment to quality assurance and regional development
  • Agribusiness Employer of Choice Award (Rimfire Resources) " supportive leadership, opportunities for staff development and recognition of employee performance
  • Risk Management Award (Ernst & Young) " documenting "whole of business' risk identification and mitigation

Details of previous winners and application forms are available from or from

Applications close on the 17th of August and winners will be announced at a Gala Dinner in Melbourne in October.

Related News

Two more Italian tomato exporters investigated for dumping

Vegetable producers and processors have welcomed an announcement that the Anti-Dumping Commission...

Global Food Safety Conference to feature LRQA, Cargill, Metro Group and World Bank

Representatives from LRQA, Cargill, Metro Group and the World Bank are among some of the keynote...

Labelling review recommends 'per serving' information be scrapped

The independent review of labelling has issued a recommendation that proposes the declaration in...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd